Skip to main content

Announcing the 2023 Helen Clark-JoPPP Award Winners

We are pleased to announce the winners of the 2023 Helen-Clark-JoPPP Award for Pharmaceutical Policy and Practice Research: 

Professor Cha-oncin Sooksriwong, Thammasat University, Thailand
Dr. Suzete Costa, Institute for Evidence-Based Health (ISBE), Portugal 
Professor Dato’ Abu Bakar Abdul Majeed, UiTM Malaysia

They are being presented with the award based on the scientific merit of their work, as well as the impact of their work on patients, decision-makers and governments.

Starting in 2018, the annual Helen Clark-Journal of Pharmaceutical Policy and Practice (JoPPP) Award recognises the talents of exceptional individuals who are making a significant contribution to the field of pharmaceutical policy and practice.

The Honourable Helen Elizabeth Clark, former New Zealand Prime Minister, after whom the Award is named, said: "Many congratulations to all the Award Winners. These researchers have made a significant contribution to facilitating pharmaceutical public health research within their communities and globally.”.

Professor Zaheer-Ud-Din Babar, chair of the Judging Panel and Editor-in-Chief of the journal, said: “The award celebrates the achievements of winners, who have made immense contributions to improve our understanding of pharmacy locally and regionally.

With kind regards,

Professor Zaheer-Ud-Din Babar, PhD
Journal of Pharmaceutical Policy and Practice [IF 4.2]

Award Winners Biographies

Cha-oncin SooksriwongCha-oncin Sooksriwong

Cha-oncin Sooksriwong is an Associate professor at the Department of Pharmacy Practice, Faculty of Pharmacy, Thammasart University. Her research area is drug policy focusing on drug prices and logistics. Dr Sooksriwong was the first director of the Doctoral Program in Pharmacy Administration at Mahidol University, a collaboration program among three Schools of Pharmacy in the USA.


Suzete CostaSuzete Costa

Suzete Costa is a pharmacist and is the Executive Director & Senior Research Director at the Institute for Evidence-Based Health (ISBE), Portugal. Previously she was Deputy Secretary-General of the Portuguese Pharmaceutical Society and Executive Director of the Centre for Health Evaluation & Research (CEFAR) of ANF.

Abu Bakar Abdul MajeedAbu Bakar Abdul Majeed

Professor Dato’ Dr Abu Bakar Abdul Majeed is the Dean at the Faculty of Pharmacy, Universiti Teknologi MARA, Malaysia. He has contributed significantly to the pharmacy profession, including as a member of the Pharmacy Board of Malaysia, a Council Member of the Malaysian Pharmacists Society and a Founding Principal of the Malaysian Academy of Pharmacy. 

About the Award

New Content ItemHelen Elizabeth Clark ONZ SSI PC is a New Zealand politician who served as the 37th Prime Minister of New Zealand from 1999 to 2008, and was the Administrator of the United Nations Development Programme from 2009 to 2017. This Award is named after her to acknowledge her significant contribution in the field of health and global development.

About the Editor

New Content ItemZaheer-Ud-Din Babar is Professor in Medicines and Healthcare at the Department of Pharmacy, University of Huddersfield, United Kingdom. He is globally recognized for his research in pharmaceutical policy and practice, including the quality use of medicines, clinical pharmacy practice, access to medicines and issues related to pharmacoeconomics. He is the founding Editor-in-Chief of the Journal of Pharmaceutical Policy and Practice (JoPPP).