Skip to main content

About the Award

Helen Elizabeth Clark ONZ SSI PC is a New Zealand politician who served as the 37th Prime Minister of New Zealand from 1999 to 2008, and was the Administrator of the United Nations Development Program from 2009 to 2017. This Award is named after her to acknowledge her significant contribution in the field of health and global development.

How to nominate

Candidates for the Award can be self-nominated or nominated by individuals. This includes a letter of support of 500 words or less outlining why the candidate meets the criteria for the Award. Written consent from the nominees for the Award must be obtained before submission of the nomination.

Selection criteria

Nominees must meet all three criteria listed below to be eligible for the Award. Nominations must include evidence that these criteria have been met consistently over 10 or more years.

 1. Public health impact: Significant contributions to promote “policy and practice, pharmaceutical system strengthening, pharmaceutical health services research, access to and use of medicines”.

2. Capacity-building record: A distinguished record in teaching, training, consulting, practice, giving guidance to students (e.g. supervision of PhD students), research (capacity-building through collaboration across universities), health professionals (e.g. pharmacists) and policy-makers (e.g. policy advice) in the field of pharmaceutical policy and practice.

Award eligibility

Everyone can nominate and can be nominated for the award. You may nominate as many different persons as you like, but you can only self-nominate once. Unsuccessful nominees may be nominated for the award in subsequent years.

Selection process

Once nominations close on the 20th of November, the judges will determine the Award recipient from a shortlist of candidates solely based on the information provided in the nomination letter. The weighing for each of the two criteria is:

1. Public health impact - 50%

2. Capacity-building record - 50%

The deadline for nominations is the 30th of November 2022. Late nominations will not be considered.

Please send your inquiries, nominations, and supporting letters to Prof Zaheer Baber, Editor-in-Chief, Journal of Pharmaceutical Policy and Practice by email at